Perivleptos Monastery, Mystras
This monastery was founded in 14th century, when Manuel Kantakouzenos was the despot. It is situated at the southern end of the city wall and has a very complex plan, as was constructed on steep slope.
In the photo right is the entrance to the monastery. On the relief just above the gate are the monograph of the monastery between two rampant lions and lilies. The heraldic lions belonged to the emblem of Manuel Kantakouzenos and his wife Isabella de Lusignan. The plate itself was originally used as lintel of the church and was moved here in 1714 when the wall and the gate were constructed.
The inscription and relief in the photo left is place above the gate to the main church. One of the monogram belong to the local aristocrat Leon Mavropappas who probably contributed to various restaurations.
The building at the centre with the dome is the main church. The one in front with a small dome is the chapel of St. Pandeleimonas, the one next to it is the chapel of St. Paraskevi, and on the west side is the chapel of St. Catherine.
Perivleptos is unique in Mystras in preserving the frescoes from the 14th century. The buidlings were, however, closed when we visited.
In the photos right and below is the tower at the south part of the monastery ground. It shows the influence from the Gothic architecture of Western Europe.
The tower is thought to be used as refectory as well as for defense. It is so poorly preserved that it is diffcult to know for certain how was the internal arrangement.
- Robin Barber, Greece (Blue Guide), London- N.Y. 2001 (Revised reprint of the 6th edition of 1995), pp. 263-267.
- Myrtali Acheimastou-Potamianou, Mystras : Historical and Archaeological Guide. Athens: Hesperos, 2003. pp. 62-77.
Back to Page Top